What’s Ashley Reading?: The Gilded Ones

The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna

First line: Today is the Ritual of Purity.

Summary: The Ritual of Purity is the day that young girls enter womanhood. Deka has always been different from the others in her tribe but she hopes that the ritual will redeem her in their eyes. But on the day, her blood runs gold rather than red, marking her as impure. She is imprisoned by the village elders.

After weeks of torture, a strange woman arrives and takes her to join a group of girls just like Deka. She learns that she is alaki, near immortal with special gifts. The girls are trained to fight and kill Deathshrieks, a creature that attacks and kills the people of Otera. As she trains she finds friendships but also starts to question everything that she grew up learning.

My Thoughts: The cover immediately caught my attention. It is stunning. Gorgeous colors that bring to life the West African feel of the story. The magic system, the different characters and the creatures were all wonderfully done. Even though many of the themes were typical of the young adult fantasy novel the details made it different. I was intrigued by the way Deka could heal, her powers and her backstory (once we learn more about it at the end).

I did find that parts seemed rushed. Especially the training at the beginning and the battle at the end. Everything happened so fast with very little build up. Part of me liked not having it drawn out but also it seemed to suddenly be over too. I had to sit and think about the big reveals at the end because there was a lot of information dumped in but once I figured out everything it was a great twist. Even though the book seemed to end without a cliffhanger there are at least 2 more books planned.

FYI: A new young adult book with a strong female lead and feminist ideas. Perfect for fans of The Children of Blood and Bone.

What’s Ashley Reading?: Cinderella Liberator

Cinderella Liberator by Rebecca Solnit

First Line: Once upon a time there was a girl named Cinderella.

Summary: Cinderella is poor little girl who sleeps in the fire place with the ashes and cleans for her mean step-mother. One day she wishes that she could go to the ball at the palace to dance and wear a pretty dress. Her wish is granted by her fairy godmother. She has a wonderful time until the prince asks for her name. Rather than giving it she runs away and losing one of her glass slippers in the process. The prince is determined to find the young girl and he scours the countryside looking for her. You know the rest. Or do you?

My Thoughts: This was a cute little spin on the traditional Cinderella story. But most of the changes happen at the end when Cinderella realizes that she can make her own choices and choose her own destiny.

I loved the illustrations. They were beautiful silhouettes. I liked that it has a positive message for young girls about making their own decisions and not relying on a man to fix everything. It is easy to see why it was the November/December pick for Emma Watson’s Our Shared Shelf book club.

FYI: This is a short picture book. I expected more when I placed it on hold.

*This is my pick for category #7 (A selection from a celebrity book club) for the ReadICT challenge.*