Book Review: Gilded Cage

Gilded Cage by Vic James

First Line: She heard the motorbike first, then the galloping horse—two distant points of noise in the darkness, converging on her as she ran.

Summary: England is being ruled by the Equals, people with powers called Skill.  They overthrew King Charles and have ruled ever since.  When the Equals took power they invoked new laws including the 10-year period of slavery for all the commoners.  When the Hadley family decides to start their slave days they are hoping to all be sent to the manor house of Kyneston to work for one of the leading Skilled families.  However, Luke, the teenage son, is sent to a slave town instead.  As each member of the family works their slave days, they each begin to learn about the Skilled and the world that they live in.

Highlights: Good dystopian storyline.  I still cannot figure out what to make of the Jardine brothers.  The Hadley family is the straightforward characters of dystopian fiction but the brothers are a little more complex.  Are they good?  Are they bad?  I cannot wait to find out.

Lowlights: Nothing to complain about except that it ended at a cliffhanger.  What is going to happen?  How are they going to continue?

FYI: Great for readers of Hunger Games and Harry Potter!

Ashley Pohlenz
Follow us

Ashley Pohlenz

Senior Library Assistant at Derby Public Library
I am a senior library assistant. I am in charge of creating adult book displays that showcase many different books from our library collection.

Being able to work around books is a dream! I read anything but my favorite genres are historical fiction and YA. Give me anything set in Tudor England or teenage fantasy novel and I am set.
Ashley Pohlenz
Follow us

Latest posts by Ashley Pohlenz (see all)

Author: Ashley Pohlenz

I am a senior library assistant. I am in charge of creating adult book displays that showcase many different books from our library collection. Being able to work around books is a dream! I read anything but my favorite genres are historical fiction and YA. Give me anything set in Tudor England or teenage fantasy novel and I am set.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *